Cover Crush Thursday – 04/18/2019

Hey everyone! Happy Thursday! Today’s post is all about those pretty book covers! Pick a cover that you love and show it off 🙂

41951626

ABOUT THE BOOK: 

Title: Criers War

Author: Nina Varela

Release Date: October 1st, 2019

Published By: Harper Teen

Pages: 448 pages

***

SYNOPSIS:

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

 

Happy Reading! 

Cant Wait Wednesday – 04/17/2019

cant-wait-wednesday

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and is based on Waiting on Wednesday that was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a book that you are excited to read that hasn’t been released yet.

 

37587820

 

ABOUT THE BOOK: 

Title: Darkdawn

Author: Jay Kristoff

Release Date: September 3rd, 2019

Published By: St Martins Press

Pages: 512 pages

***

SYNOPSIS:

A ruthless young assassin’s journey for revenge comes to a stunning end in the conclusion of this acclaimed epic fantasy trilogy.

The Republic of Itreya is in chaos. Mia Corvere has assassinated Cardinal Duomo and rumors of Consul Scaeva’s death ripple through the street of Godsgrave like wildfire. But buried beneath those same streets, deep in the ancient city’s bones, lies a secret that will change the Republic forever.

Mia and her brother Jonnen must journey through the depths of the ancient metropolis. Their quest will take them through the Godsgrave underdark, across the Sea of Swords, back to the library of the Quiet Mountain and the poisoned blades of Mia’s old mentors, and at last the fabled Crown of the Moon. There, Mia will at last discover the origins of the darkin, and learn the destiny that lies in store for her and her world. But with the three suns now in descent, and Truedark on the horizon, will she survive?

 

Happy Reading! 

Top Ten Tuesday: Rainy Day Reads

Image result for top 10 tuesday

Hey everyone! Happy Tuesday! Today’s topic is Top Ten Tuesday, which is currently being run by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s (April 16th, 2019) topic is: Rainy Day Reads

I’m not much of a themed reads kind of gal, I dont really do “Summer reads” or “Spring reads” or a “rainy day reads,” so I’ll just share some of my favorites. 🙂

 

 Shades of Magic Trilogy by V.E. Schwab

 

220552622076487929939230

 

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

 

101941571406195514061957

 

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

 

36381037132067601320682813206900

 

Reign of the Fallen Duology by Sarah Glenn Marsh

 

2990601740125269

 

Passenger Duology by Alex Bracken 

 

2098336220983366

 

 Don’t Look Back by Jennifer Armentrout

 

18296030

 

 Far From You by Tess Sharpe

 

18296034

 

 Seraphina Duology

 

1954984116085457

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy by Sarah J. Maas

 

160968241792739531451174

 

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling Image result for Harry Potter books

***

What are some of your favorites?

 

Happy Reading! 

Goodreads Monday 04/15/2019

GOODREADS MONDAY IS HOSTED BY LAUREN’S PAGE TURNERS.  ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS SHOW OFF A BOOK FROM YOUR TBR THAT YOU’RE LOOKING FORWARD TO READING.

***

35967101

 

Title: The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle (also titled The Seven and a Half Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle)

Author: Stuart Turton

Release Date: February 8th, 2018

Published By: Raven Books

Pages: 512 pages

***

SYNOPSIS:

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Also titled as The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

 

Happy Reading! 

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 04/15/2019

So it’s actually Tuesday, but I got distracted (and heartbroken) yesterday by what was happening with Notre Dame Cathedral and I still wanted to post these.

CURRENT READ(S):

 

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

 

29236298

 

SYNOPSIS:

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

 

***

 

You’d Be Mine by Erin Hahn

36146624

 

SYNOPSIS:

Annie Mathers is America’s sweetheart and heir to a country music legacy full of all the things her Gran warned her about. Superstar Clay Coolidge is most definitely going to end up one of those things.

But unfortunately for Clay, if he can’t convince Annie to join his summer tour, his music label is going to drop him. That’s what happens when your bad boy image turns into bad boy reality. Annie has been avoiding the spotlight after her parents’ tragic death, except on her skyrocketing YouTube channel. Clay’s label wants to land Annie, and Clay has to make it happen.

Swayed by Clay’s undeniable charm and good looks, Annie and her band agree to join the tour. From the start fans want them to be more than just tour mates, and Annie and Clay can’t help but wonder if the fans are right. But if there’s one part of fame Annie wants nothing to do with, it’s a high-profile relationship. She had a front row seat to her parents’ volatile marriage and isn’t interested in repeating history. If only she could convince her heart that Clay, with his painful past and head over heels inducing tenor, isn’t worth the risk.

***

What are you currently reading?

 

Happy Reading! 

 

First Lines Fridays – 04/12/2019

Image result for first lines friday

Happy Friday book loves! First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, we judged it by its opening lines? Grab a book, whether it’s your current read or one off your shelves, and share the first few opening lines then reveal the book! 🙂

 ***

“THERE’S A UNICORN ON THIS.”

Grinning, I take the letter out of Jude’s hands, leaning back on the nest of the sleeping bags and pillows we’ve built inside the little orange tent I’ve set up in the backyard.

 ***

41734205

ABOUT THE BOOK: 

Title: Her Royal Highness (Royals #2)

Author: Rachel Hawkins

Release Date: May 7th, 2019

Published By: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Pages: 304 pages

***

SYNOPSIS:

Millie Quint is devastated when she discovers that her sort-of-best friend/sort-of-girlfriend has been kissing someone else. And because Millie cannot stand the thought of confronting her ex every day, she decides to apply for scholarships to boarding schools . . . the farther from Houston the better.

Millie can’t believe her luck when she’s accepted into one of the world’s most exclusive schools, located in the rolling highlands of Scotland. Everything about Scotland is different: the country is misty and green; the school is gorgeous, and the students think Americans are cute.

The only problem: Mille’s roommate Flora is a total princess.

She’s also an actual princess. Of Scotland.

At first, the girls can barely stand each other–Flora is both high-class and high-key–but before Millie knows it, she has another sort-of-best-friend/sort-of-girlfriend. Even though Princess Flora could be a new chapter in her love life, Millie knows the chances of happily ever afters are slim . . . after all, real life isn’t a fairy tale . . . or is it?

 

Happy Reading! 

March 2019 Book Haul

Digital ARC’s:

 

Edelweiss:

 

405458333260512640580686

 

Netgalley:

 

4220207444000953

 

Purchased (from B&N and Amazon):

 

39873978

 

From sub box:

 

 

Grand Total: 12; 5 physical books and 7 digital. A much smaller haul than February which was 26.

 

***

 

What does your March haul look like?  Did you get any of these?

 

Happy Reading!